tutorials
How to Transfer Your Cosmetology License to Another State
Moving states? Learn how cosmetology license endorsement and reciprocity work, how boards handle hours gaps and exams, typical steps and fee ranges, and where to check before you pack the car.

Quick answer: To move your cosmetology license, apply to the new state's board for endorsement or reciprocity, prove your license is active and in good standing, and cover any hours or exam gap. Application fees in the states we checked ran $40 to $100, plus your old state's verification fee. Rules differ, so start with the new board.
Updated October 2026. This is general information, not legal or professional advice. Rules change, so confirm details with your state board.
A new city should not mean starting over. Most boards have a path for licensed cosmetologists, and many are simpler than going back to school. The catch is that every state writes its own rules, so we will show you what the boards say and where to verify.
What is the difference between endorsement and reciprocity?
State pages use the words loosely. New York's page says you may qualify through "endorsement or reciprocity", and Pennsylvania titles its page "Reciprocity (Endorsement)".
Here is how we think about them (our shorthand, not a legal definition):
- Reciprocity: an agreement between two states to honor each other's licenses.
- Endorsement: the new state reviews your existing license against its own standards.
Reciprocity can run one way. Pennsylvania says it has reciprocal agreements with every state except Connecticut, Colorado, Florida, Hawaii, New Jersey, New Mexico, Rhode Island, and Utah. Yet Florida says a current, active out-of-state license holder does not need to take its exam or meet its education requirements. Georgia has both a reciprocity rule and a separate endorsement rule.
What do boards actually ask for?
| State | What we found | Fee |
|---|---|---|
| Texas | License from a state with "substantially equivalent" requirements, current and in good standing. Sealed certification letter from your old board. 12 months to finish | $100 |
| Pennsylvania | Current license in a reciprocal state, at least two years of licensed work, employer certifications, criminal history checks | $89 |
| New York | Certification from your original jurisdiction, or five years of equivalent legal experience | $40 application |
| Ohio | Valid license, hours at least 80% of Ohio's, exams may be waived | Not stated in rule |
| Florida | Current, active license. Apprenticeship licenses not eligible | Not listed |
| California | Licensed work experience can cover an hours shortfall | Not stated on form |
Sources: Texas form BAC-LIC-003 (rev. December 2025), Pennsylvania guide and licensure page, Ohio rule 4713-7-09, California form.
Pennsylvania's reciprocity fee is $89 against $119 for a first-time license, so you save $30 and skip the school hours. Texas notes that your old state sets its own fee for the certification letter, so add that to the budget.
What if my hours do not match?
Hours vary a lot. Texas lists 1,000 hours, New York 1,000, Pennsylvania 1,250 (school route), and Mississippi 1,500, per WLOX. Our guide to cosmetology school hours by state has the full picture.
Boards handle gaps in different ways:
- Percentage rule (Ohio): at least 80% of Ohio's required hours. As an illustration only, if a state required 1,500 hours, 80% would be 1,200.
- Experience credit (California): every three months of licensed practice counts as 100 hours. Twelve months equals 400 hours, so a 500-hour gap is about 15 months of licensed work. Only experience after you were licensed counts.
- Experience route (New York, Pennsylvania): New York accepts five years of equivalent legal experience with documentation, and Pennsylvania's reciprocity route asks for at least two years of licensed work.
Request your school transcript now. If you trained through an apprenticeship, Texas asks for a transcript of hours or a course certificate.
Will I have to retake the exam?
It depends on the route. Florida waives it for an active license holder. Ohio's board may waive exams if your original state required both a practical and a theory exam and extends similar reciprocity to Ohio licensees. Georgia lets applicants who passed both national or state-approved exams apply directly. If your old state required less testing, expect to sit for some or all of the new state's exam. Our state board exam prep guide covers what to expect.
What are the typical steps?
- Confirm your license is active and in good standing. Renew it and clear any fines first.
- Find the new board's out-of-state page and note which route it offers.
- Order verification from your current board. Texas wants it in a sealed envelope, New York's endorsement page asks for a good-standing letter dated within six months, and Georgia wants verifications sent directly to its board from every state you hold a license in.
- Collect transcripts and employer certifications. Pennsylvania asks for an employer's certification for each employer listed.
- Gather background checks. Pennsylvania requires one for each state you lived, worked, or trained in during the past five years, dated within 180 days.
- Submit the application and fee. Texas gives you 12 months to finish.
- Ask whether you may work while you wait. Do not assume you can.
California's board noted in October 2025 that out-of-state applications are rising along with fraud concerns, and it proposed requiring certification that includes your exam pass date. Expect careful document review.
Is a national shortcut coming?
Possibly. The Cosmetology Licensure Compact was enacted by 13 states as of July 20, 2026: Alabama, Arizona, Colorado, Delaware, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia, Washington, and West Virginia. It is not yet operational, so licensed cosmetologists cannot practice through it today.
Some states also have universal recognition laws. The Institute for Justice says these generally require a license in good standing and may still require fees or exams. Its page counts the states inconsistently, so check your destination directly.
When is transferring not the right move?
- You are still a student. A license transfer applies to licensed professionals. Ask your school and the new board whether prior hours count. Our guide to how to choose a beauty school helps.
- You licensed through an apprenticeship. Florida says apprenticeship licenses are not eligible for endorsement.
- Your license has lapsed or has discipline on it. Texas and Pennsylvania both ask about disciplinary and criminal history.
- Your hours gap is large and you have little experience. Finishing hours in the new state may be simpler.
Sources also disagree in places. Pennsylvania lists Florida as a state without an agreement, while Florida says it will endorse active licenses. The Compact's news page labels West Virginia as "10th" in its URL and "11th" in its headline. Trust the board, not a blog.
How do we rebuild clients after the move?
Licensing is step one. Step two is a booking page clients can find. Primzy Pro is $40 a month flat with 0% commission on bookings through your own shared link, and the Booked Out Beauty Lab offers free business education. Our guide to your first 20 clients walks through the first few weeks.
How to Decide What to Do
If you are moving in the next 60 days: Call the new board this week and ask for its out-of-state application checklist.
If your biggest issue is an hours gap: Ask whether the board credits licensed work experience, and request your school transcript now.
If your biggest issue is the exam: Ask the board whether it waives testing for out-of-state licensees, then plan study time only if it does not.
If your license is from an apprenticeship: Confirm that the new state accepts apprenticeship licenses before you apply.
If you are still in school: Ask the new board and school whether your hours transfer, not your license.
If you are not moving yet: Keep your license active and in good standing, and keep a copy of your transcript.
Sources
- Cosmetology Licensure Compact, "Pennsylvania Becomes 13th State to Enact Cosmetology Licensure Compact" (July 21, 2026)
- Texas TDLR, "License by Reciprocity Application, Form BAC-LIC-003" (revised December 2025)
- Texas TDLR, "Apply for a Cosmetologist License" (no date shown)
- Pennsylvania Dept. of State, "Cosmetologist Licensure by Reciprocity (Endorsement)" (no date shown)
- Pennsylvania Dept. of State, "Cosmetologist Licensure Requirements" (no date shown)
- New York Dept. of State, "Become a Cosmetologist" (no date shown)
- New York Dept. of State, "Endorsement States" (no date shown)
- Ohio Admin. Code 4713-7-09, "Out of state license holder applications" (effective February 12, 2024)
- Florida DBPR, "Cosmetology Frequently Asked Questions" (no date shown)
- California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology, "Out-of-State/Out-of-Country Experience Form 03E-145" (revised April 2024)
- California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology, "Meeting Minutes" (October 13, 2025)
- Georgia Board, "Rule 240-11-.01, Applicants Seeking Licensure by Endorsement" (effective January 10, 2017)
- Georgia Board of Cosmetology, "Chapter 130-8, Reciprocity" (no date shown)
- Institute for Justice, "States' Reforms for Universal Recognition of Occupational Licensing" (page last modified June 14, 2023)
- WLOX, "Mississippi instructors see benefits after practical cosmetology exam eliminated" (March 4, 2026)